The world is mourning and rejoicing


First of all, I state that I am not Catholic.  I am a Protestant Christian who embraces many of the doctrines of my church and rejects many doctrines made by the Catholic church.  But regardless of my own religious beliefs, I, like billions around the world, feel that the world has lost a great leader, a great humanitarian, and a great man.  Pope John Paul II will be remembered for the spiritual and political work he has done or been involved with over the last 26 years.  He inspired many.  I never really gave much thought to him as the leader of the Church, but I did think of him as someone who gave selflessly of his life to help and inspire people despite his own suffering.  I believe he is a true living example of what Paul meant by ‘cruciform lifestyle’ and he was a breath of decency in a world that has been plagued with vulgarity. 


To my Catholic friends, I will keep you, your church, and his Holiness in my thoughts and prayers.  Although the rift between Catholicism and Protestantism is not as huge as it was anymore in America, it was still nice to have my church say a prayer for the Catholic Church, because as Christians, we should unite at a time like this.  To the world, I hope we can only learn from what he has done.  If we can act like he did, if only a few minutes of the day, and give unselfishly of our time and energy to others in need, then this world may be okay after all. 


However, being the curious person I am, I am very interested to watch the process of selecting a new pope.  It seems fascinating, and though I believe I read that the process has been changed in recent years, it’s still kind of cool to have a process that has selected popes for centuries upon centuries.  Even in this modern society, we will know that a new pope has been chosen by the white smoke of the burning ballots.  That’s kind of cool.


Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid. – Matthew 14:27

5 thoughts on “

  1. Anonymous says:

    I agree that it is a fascinating process, except that so much of it is shrouded in secrecy that we may never know exactly how it is done until years after the new pope is selected.

  2. Didn’t you people read Angels and Demons?  You should also read Digital Fortress because it talks about Seville!

  3. Thank you, Lisa! All that was really encouraging. I may not be mourning as much as other Catholics at this moment, but the Church did lose a great leader and role model. It’s good to know that other denominations have us in their prayers. And I, too, am excited about the process.

  4. Isis7070 says:

    really now, you read angels and demons, you know what goes on behind those gilded closed doors.  j/k, but i kinda like not knowing.  makes it more mysterious and you know how i like mysteries.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Digital Fortress was an absolutly horrible junk novel, it was like a bad b-movie.

Leave a Reply

