“Life’s blows cannot break a person whose spirit is warmed by the fire of enthusiasm.” – Norman Vincent Peale

It’s been a very long 13 days of 2013. Let’s recap:

– Broke up with my boyfriend/father of my child

– Started the year off broke from Christmas

– Totaled my car (on my birthday)

– Couldn’t stick to my cleanse diet because I was way too stressed out

Okay, so maybe that last one was my fault. However, it’s been a very rough two weeks. However, I’m optimistic. Here’s why:

– Jonathan and I needed to go our separate ways to be better people and parents to Brooklyn.

– I’m learning how to better economize my money

– No one was hurt in the car wreck. It could have been a lot worse.

So, in the midst of all the bad, there are a few glimmers of good things, or potentially good things, on which to hold. But I must beg 2013 to be kinder. I can’t take much more, at least not right now. I know that God will never give us more than we can manage. I just think He overestimates me.

On the cooking front, I’ve made some excellent meals in 2013. Because I tried doing the 24 Day Challenge for Advocare, I have been eating very well. One of my favorites was Slow Cooker Chicken Burritos. I wish I had taken a picture.

Slow Cooker Chicken Burritos

Ingredients:

  • 3 – 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 can tomato sauce, 8 oz. (No sugar added preferable)
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 1 package of low sodium taco seasoning
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 2 cloves of garlic

Instructions:

Place chicken in slow cooker. Pour remaining ingredients on top of chicken. Cover and cook on low for 6 hours or until chicken is cooked. Serve over lettuce for a Tex-Mex salad or serve with beans, tomatoes, lettuce, black olives (ew!), salsa and avocado.

I ate it with fat-free black refried beans, onion and lettuce. It was very filling, very yummy, very high in protein and low in fat! Definitely something to keep in mind for a future meal.

At the end of today, I look back on the last 13 days and I’m ready for the future. I’m ready to be happy, I’m ready to be fulfilled, I’m ready to be satisfied within. So, tomorrow is Monday, and a new week, and I’m ready. I’m ready with a smile.

No matter how hard the past, you can always begin again.

2013, please be kinder.

Tagged

One thought on “2013, please be kinder.

  1. Lacey Dunn says:

    God doesnt do bad to us. The devil does in order to shake our faith. Don’t let yours go. Know that he will save you. Trust though that some things that seem bad are not. They are actually blessings in disquise. I guarantee that this is just a rough start but that soon you will have so many blessings. Until then count the ones you do have starting with that adorable little mini me of yours.

Leave a Reply

