Monday Motivation, June 17.

mm6_17_13

This sleeping angel is who I live my life for – Little Miss Sleeping Monster 🙂

Rock Bottom

Ever had that moment where you hit rock bottom? It could be any number of things. For me, however, when it comes to my food addiction, it was this Sunday afternoon.

But it started Saturday night. Saturday night was a friend’s engagement over at The Flying Saucer. The Flying Saucer is a beer house with hundreds of rare and delicious beers on tap. Because I would be driving the majority of the evening, I limited myself to 1 flight (25 oz) and 1 pint of beer to be consumed over a few hours. I also consumed 8 Buffalo wings, bone-in, and some cheese fries topped with chives and bacon bits. Needless to say, when I left The Flying Saucer, I was full. And that’s when the heart palpitations started. For the next hour, I felt light fluttering across my chest. It was noticeable enough for me to wonder if I should go to the ER. I drank water the rest of the night, and I tried to keep my emotions and stress levels in check. I was worried, but this still was not rock bottom.

Father’s Day. Brooklyn’s dad had an issue come up so I took her to eat. Still craving Buffalo wings (why, I don’t know why), we went to Willie’s Ice House where I had an appetizer of fried pickles and mushrooms and Buffalo wings. No beer though. Straight iced tea, unsweet. But as I sat there, playing with Brooklyn, it occurred to me. If I continue to eat these kinds of food, I won’t live to see her 18th birthday. A girl I grew up with died this year of a heart attack. My own mortality is a reality. We all die, but now I have something I must do everything in my power to live for. As delicious as fried pickles are, and oh, how they are delicious, they are no comparison to the joy and love I have for my daughter.

So with that, I must eat healthy. I must find the motivation to break my own addiction. I’m addicted to food. Beer, Buffalo wings, fried pickles, pastas, candy, ice cream…it’s all so delicious. And all so deadly in mass quantities.

So back on the proverbial horse and I will do this. I will. I must!

Rock bottom is the foundation on which I built my life. – JK Rowling

2 thoughts on “Monday Motivation, June 17.

  1. Mark Wronowski says:

    Hi Lisa, I am amazed at your writings and your drive to make yourself into a better person and the best Mom possible. I’m absolutely positive that all the people involved in your life would vote to have you stick around as long as possible.
    I’m struggling to get my drive back and I don’t have an explanation as to why I lost it in the first place. I now have my 3rd waiver for my license. I have completely changed everything about my life. I quit smoking. I have lost a lot of weight. I workout and I eat a better selection of food. Hell no, it ain’t easy. I struggle to keep going.
    I just got finished with this years doctor visits and paper filings. Now, since I have been boat whoring, I’m struggling to find a routine again. In my mind, I tell myself that I have done well and I can reward myself by slacking off until I get back on my regular boat. The problem is I can feel each pound coming back on me and if I don’t find my motivation then I’ve lost what I have gained.
    I have figured out how to somewhat eat healthy even on here. Last night I made an avocado and crab salad with fire roasted red peppers.
    Yes, I have mad skills in the kitchen. I taught myself how to use the tools so I don’t become a tool myself. It is so easy to make an excuse and cheat.
    One of the things that first captivated me about you is your personality and how smart you are. Then, I learned more about you and figured out that you have many qualities.
    I want to continue working and living my life on my terms. Not how the company wants me to or the Coast Guard. In order to do both, I have to make sacrifices. With those sacrifices and hard work come just rewards. I have to be practical.
    When it seems darkest, I want to be there for you. I want to give you strength. I want to give you encouragement. I want to be YOUR constant rock. Do not be afraid to pick up the phone or to write me an email.
    All my best wishes for you and LIL Miss B.
    Take care, Mark

  2. cha.otic says:

    Mark, that’s great to hear that you’ve made some lifestyle changes. Starting is always the hardest part. And thank you very much for the kind words and reading my blog! I definitely am trying to capture my story and inspire others along the way!

Leave a Reply

