Happy Is As Happy Does

What is happiness?

That’s a question I find myself asking a lot, and I feel that if I have to ask, then I’m not really happy. But then I wonder why. I am actually very blessed. I have a beautiful little girl who is growing up so quickly. I have a boyfriend who loves and supports me. I really enjoy my job. I need to stop thinking of the things I don’t have and focus on what I do.

On Pinterest, I found a 30-Day Happiness Challenge by PopSugar. For the next 30 days, I will log in and document my challenge on this blog. My hope is that at the end of the 30 days, I won’t have to think about what makes me happy and I’ll just BE happy. It’s so simple, right? Being happy? It should be anyway. I feel that our society trains us to be miserable – to keep up with the Joneses and if we aren’t ahead, we are miserable. As a result, we work harder which keeps us from our family and friends, and our mental health suffers. So does our physical health. We get stressed and sick which further keeps us from being happy. It’s a vicious cycle when really we should have just been happy to begin with. I’m 30 years old. I don’t know how much time I have left on this Earth, but I don’t want to spend it miserable. It’s time to learn how to be happy. For real, this time!

Day 1.

Name three things you are grateful for when you wake up.

1. My dear sweet Brooklyn. She drives me crazy at times, but no one on Earth has ever brought me as much joy as this sweet little toddler has.

2. My education. I feel like I have been blessed to have studied the things I have and to have the ability to learn more as I live.

3. My job. My job is awesome. Enough said.

Those three things are very integral to who I am. What are you grateful for?

Leave a Reply

