Does a 2 year old count?

I may have failed Day 3 of the Happiness Challenge.

Day 3 is “Reach out to someone you know and praise them.” I did not actively do this today. For some reason, I thought the challenge would be something similar to the last two days where I could come up with my answer after reflecting on the day. Day 3 is more proactive it seems. Not that it’s a problem, but I didn’t actively praise anyone today.

But I did praise my daughter. I praised her many times. Does a 2 year old count?

One of the two times that stick out in my mind is when she actually ate off her plate. She doesn’t eat very well for me. I don’t know if she’s just not hungry or if she just sees me as a playmate and won’t eat. Tonight, when I put food on the plate, I praised her very much when she ate! The other time is I told her she was beautiful. I tell her she’s beautiful every day wven when she’s fussy, kind of like she was today.

A not-so happy Brooklyn

Write down one meaningful thing that happened to you in the last 24 hours.

It’s not much, but I organized my blog yesterday and started writing down goals. It’s meaningful because I enjoyed it and it will help me grow as a human. It took me to a happy place.

Three things I am grateful for:

1. My toothbrush. I hate morning breath, so I am grateful to wake up every day and brush my teeth. I can’t do anything until I do that. It is refreshing.

2.  Air conditioning. I’m from Texas. It’s hot, and it’s only going to get hotter. I am very grateful for refuge from the heat.

3. The ability to read. This goes along with my education, but it’s more basic than that. Without the ability to read, I wouldn’t be able to learn. I wouldn’t be able to study. I wouldn’t be entertained. There are so many interesting things out there. There are so many illiterate people out there who can’t escape their mundane worlds to exciting places such as Middle Earth or Hogwarts.

I’m not very happy tonight. Some people got some laughs at my expense tonight when I wasn’t there to defend myself. It hurt because I go out of my way to help these people out. I’m actually pretty angry. But I’m not going to get even or say anything. I’ll continue to help. But it’s pretty sad when people get their kicks off making fun of others.

Leave a Reply

