Day 4 and The Compound Effect

This happiness challenge is going pretty well. I am already noticing a small change in my attitude! But I must be careful because I have a tendency to get really excited at first but fizzle really quickly. That’s where The Compound Effect by Darren Hardy comes into play.

“The Compound Effect is based on the principle that decisions shape your destiny. Little, everyday decisions will either take you to the life you desire or to disaster by default.” – Amazon.com

I’m only on Chapter 2 but this book is making me think. I’ve never really thought about how small, mundane choices can greatly impact our lives in multiple ways. For example, having an alcoholic beverage every night has caused me to put on some weight I lost. Not only am I adding the extra calories, but because of the hangover the next morning, I don’t wake up and work out. Because I’m not working out, I don’t feel good. I feel fat, full, bloated. This puts me in a bad mood which creates problems with my boyfriend. The arguments make life difficult because we just fight all the time, sometimes about nothing! Contrast this to a year ago when I was steadily working out and I had cut all sugar out of my diet. I felt the best I had ever, ever felt. I also lost 30 lbs. in a month! The small, almost automatic decision to drink with my boyfriend has created issues I wouldn’t have thought about!

As I read on, I’ll let you know what I think. At the moment though, Darren Hardy’s anecdotes and stories while explaining his principles really make sense and they are simple enough to read. At least for me. The boyfriend thinks it’s dumb. But he also has a really, really poor attitude.

Happiness Challenge Day 4: Add 15 minutes of cardio to your day.

I did not add cardio; however, I did do yoga for the first time in a long, long time this morning. Unfortunately, my daughter kept me up all night last night so the idea of doing anything really active at 5:30 this morning just wasn’t going to happen. I’ll try again tomorrow.

Reach out to someone and praise them. Kim Lange always posts the right things on Facebook. Today, she posted an article about not comparing ourselves to other from MindBodyGreen. I’m always appreciative of it, so today, I posted a little note and told her. I think this counts, right? I think so.

One meaningful thing that has happened today. Proof that my attitude and spirit is changing. I exchanged something at Walmart today. The cashier made a mistake and gave me a gift card with double the amount I was owed. I could have taken it, and I would have gotten a shirt for free. But I thought about it. I believe in karma. And she could have gotten in trouble if her till was off. A few weeks ago, I would have taken the money. Today, I told her she had made a mistake and gave me too much. Maybe I’m a fool, but I felt better when I left the store.

Three things I’m grateful for: 

1. Sleep. I didn’t get much sleep last night and how I missed it! I missed my bed. Dealing with a toddler who doesn’t want to sleep and won’t let me sleep made me appreciate how much sleep means.

2. My mother. She always forgives me. Always helps me. I love her very much and I don’t tell her nearly enough.

3. Netflix! Okay, I’m going to be a little shallow, but I love that I have access to tons of TV shows and movies. My current marathon is Orange is the New Black. Check it out if you have the chance!

What is a small change that you have done in the past that ended up making your life better in the long run?

Leave a Reply

