Reflections of Day 2

Day 2 was hard but I didn’t feel committed. I ended up eating out at lunch because I was running errands. I made the usual excuse: I’m out anyway, may as well eat. Aside from that, today was pretty successful. I got my water in – 112 oz baby! Water with lemon is delicious by the way. I recommend it! On a plus side, I walked 2 miles tonight! Got my fitness minutes in and I have some time to get the rest of my steps in. Woot!

Dinner was a new recipe – pulled pork tacos with slaw.

Ingredients:

For the pork:
2.5 lbs of pork
2 Tbsp of HEB Hickory Seasoning
A jar of Robert’s Reserve BBQ sauce (next time, I’m using Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce)
Onion, chopped

For the taco:
Tortillas, fajita size
Red onion, chopped

For the slaw:
1 cup HEB Chopped Ranch Salad
1 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 white vinegar
Pinch of pepper
Pinch of ranch seasoning

Steps:

Get out the slow cooker – this is super easy! First, chop your onion and put it in the crock pot. Put your pork in. Top it with hickory seasoning. Dump the BBQ sauce in. Cook on high for 3-4 hours or on low for 8-9. I did low.

About 2 hours before it’s done, make your slaw. Mix the mayonnaise, sugar, pepper, ranch and vinegar in a blender or Magic Bullet. In a bowl, mix the chopped salad with the mixture. Chill until ready to serve

Once the meat is ready, pop the tortillas in the oven for a minute to warm them. Build the taco by putting the onion on, the pulled pork and top it off with the slaw. Bon appetite!

pulledpork

 

Leave a Reply

